Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)

Three concerts with the Konzerthausorchester Berlin

For three concerts in 12th, 13th and 14th January Dimitri Kitaenko returns to the Konzerthausorchester Berlin whose First Guest Conductor he was from 2012 to 2017. The soloist in Sergei Prokofiev's Second Violin Concerto will be the 47-year-old Italian Russian violinist Sergei Krylov. Maestro Kitaenko has often cooperated with this Stradivarius and Kreisler prize-winner.

The different movements of Prokofiev's Violin Concerto were composed in Paris, Woronesch and Baku. The premiere took place in Madrid. The work marks a move to a more conventional composing method, to a "new simplicity", like the composer said, and at the same time a return to the virtuoso concerto of the 19th century. The concerto was commissioned for the French violinist Robert Soetens who had the exclusive performing rights for one year. Soetens played the concerto all over the world: in London, Tunis and Algiers, in Portugal and Morocco as well as in South Africa in 1972 - at the age of 75.

In Berlin, Dimitri Kitaenko is also to conduct Prokofiev's Suite from the film Lieutenant Kijé (1933) whose main figure is a soldier who does not exist. For his superiors, a fictitious lieutenant is advantageous, since he can blamed for everything what goes wrong … At the end, when he must die for state reasons, an empty coffin is carried to the cemetery.

Tchaikovsky's Fifth symphony concludes the program. It was written in 1888, almost eleven years after the Fourth Symphony. Bad reviews after the first performance left the composer in doubt, but when the performance in Hamburg went very well, he decided to leave the symphony as it was. Like the entire trilogy of the last symphonies the Fifth is a darkly glowing work of confession, living from the opposition between the search for happiness and the fate.

Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)
Kitajenko

Drei Konzerte mit dem Berliner Konzerthausorchester

Für drei Konzerte am 12., 13. und 14. Januar kehrt Dmitrij Kitajenko zum Konzerthausorchester Berlin zurück, dessen Erster Gastdirigent er von 2012 bis 2017 war. Der Solist in Sergej Prokofjews Zweitem Violinkonzert ist der 47-jährige italienisch-russische Geiger Sergej Krylov. Mit dem Stradivarius- und Kreisler-Preisträger hat Maestro Kitajenko schon oft zusammengearbeitet.

Die verschiedenen Sätze von Prokofjews Violinkonzert entstanden in Paris, in Woronesch und in Baku, uraufgeführt wurde es in Madrid. Es markiert eine Hinwendung zu einem konventionelleren Komponieren, zu einer "neuen Einfachheit", wie es der Komponist formulierte, und gleichzeitig eine Rückbesinnung auf das Virtuosenkonzert des 19. Jahrhunderts. Es ist ein Auftragswerk des französischen Geigers Robert Soetens, der für ein Jahr das alleinige Vortragsrecht hatte. Soetens spielte das Konzert auf der ganzen Welt: in London, in Tunis und Algier, in Portugal und Marokko sowie bei der Premiere in Südafrika 1972 – mit 75 Jahren.

Von Prokofjew dirigiert Dmitrij Kitajenko in Berlin auch die Suite aus der Musik zum Film 'Leutnant Kijé' (1933), in dem es um einen Soldaten geht, den es gar nicht gibt. Ein fiktiver Leutnant ist vorteilhaft. Alles, was schiefgeht, wird ihm in die Schuhe geschoben… Und als er schließlich aus Staatsgründen sterben muss, wird ein leerer Sarg zu Grabe getragen.

Tschaikowskys Fünfte Symphonie beschließt das Programm. Sie entstand 1888, fast elf Jahre nach der Vierten Symphonie. Nach schlechten Kritiken bei der Uraufführung war der Komponist verunsichert, doch als die Symphonie in Hamburg sehr gut aufgenommen wurde, nahm er keine Änderungen daran vor. Wie die ganze Trilogie der letzten Symphonien  ist auch die Fünfte ein Bekenntniswerk mit autobiographischem Inhalt und lebt aus der Opposition von Suche nach dem Glück und Schicksal.