Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)
Kitajenko

A success story: latest CD release in the Tchaikovsky cycle

Continuing their Tchaikovsky cycle, which has up to now enjoyed outstanding critical reviews, the Cologne Gürzenich Orchestra have recorded the Third Symphony and excerpts from the Sleeping Beauty ballet under the baton of honorary conductor Dmitri Kitaenko.  This release is the sixth of eight CDs planned with OehmsClassics.

Tchaikovsky’s Third, generally regarded as one of his early symphonies, is also known as his “Polish” Symphony, since its finale is characterised by polonaise rhythms. The epithet “German Symphony” would have been just as appropriate, as the second movement bears the heading “Alla tedesca”. This work, composed in 1875, contains altogether five movements instead of the usual four. The Moscow audience  reacted very positively at the première of the Third Symphony, but its success was later increasingly overshadowed by the three “mature” symphonies. However, it is all too easy to forget the great creative power revealed by Tchaikovsky’s early symphonic work, especially the unjustifiably neglected “Polish” Symphony.

Tchaikovsky’s ballets became almost more famous than his symphonies. They set the standard at that time: Russian ballet music had previously been a mere accompaniment to dance, produced by specialists according to strict specifications. Tchaikovsky also respected the wishes of the renowned choreographer Marius Petipa, but his inspired music in turn influenced the choreography. “Each entrance, each event on stage even,” as Igor Stravinsky enthused over Tchaikovsky’s Sleeping Beauty, premièred in 1890, “is always individually treated in accordance with the role of each character, and each number has its own flavour.” Such ballet music was able to hold its own in the concert hall, even without any dance to accompany it; thus Sleeping Beauty, like Swan Lake and The Nutcracker, also became established as an orchestral suite in its own right.

Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Symphony No. 3 in D, op. 29 (“Polish”)
Sleeping Beauty (suite) op. 66a (excerpts)
1 SACD | OC670

Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)
Kitajenko

Eine Erfolgsgeschichte: Neue CD aus dem Tschaikowsky-Zyklus erschienen

Mit der Symphonie Nr. 3 und Auszügen aus dem Ballett „Dornröschen“ findet der bisher von der Fachkritik als herausragend beurteilte Tschaikowksy-Zyklus mit dem Gürzenich-Orchester Köln unter Leitung seines Ehrendirigenten Dmitrij Kitajenko Fortsetzung. Damit sind bisher sechs von insgesamt acht geplanten CDs bei OehmsClassics erschienen.

Tschaikowskys „Dritte“, die gemeinhin zu den frühen Symphonien zählt, wird auch als seine „polnische“ Sinfonie bezeichnet, da Polonaisen-Rhythmen ihr Finale prägen. Genauso treffend wäre der Beiname „deutsche" Sinfonie: Schließlich trägt der zweite Satz die Überschrift „Alla tedesca“. Insgesamt enthält das 1875 entstandene Werk fünf Satze statt der üblichen vier. Das Moskauer Publikum nahm die Uraufführung der „Dritten“ sehr positiv auf, doch später wurde ihr Erfolg  zunehmend von dem der drei „reifen“ Sinfonien verdunkelt. Allzu leicht vergisst man darüber jedoch, dass auch Tschaikowskys frühes sinfonisches Schaffen – vor allem die zu Unrecht vernachlässigte »polnische« Sinfonie – von großer Gestaltungskraft zeugt.

Fast noch bekannter als Tschaikowskys Sinfonien wurden seine Ballette. Sie setzten in ihrer Zeit Maßstäbe: Zuvor war russische Ballettmusik reine Begleitung zum Tanz gewesen, die Spezialisten nach strikten Vorgaben herstellten. Tschaikowsky respektierte zwar ebenfalls die Wünsche des berühmten Choreographen Marius Petipa, doch seine geniale Musik inspirierte umgekehrt auch die tänzerische Gestaltung. „Jeder Auftritt, überhaupt jeder Bühnenvorgang“, so schwärmte Igor Strawinsky von Tschaikowskys 1890 uraufgeführtem „Dornröschen“, „ist immer individuell nach dem Charakter der jeweiligen Person behandelt und jede Nummer hat ihr eigenes Gesicht.“ Solche Ballettmusik konnte selbst ohne Tanz auf der Konzertbühne bestehen, und so setzte sich  „Dornröschen“, ebenso wie „Schwanensee“ und „Der Nussknacker“, auch als Orchestersuite durch.

Pjotr. I. Tschaikowsky, Symphonie Nr. 3 D-Dur op. 29 (“Polnische”)
Dornröschen-Suite op. 66a (Auszüge)
1 SACD | OC670