Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)
Kitajenko
Cover Tschai4

CD release: Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4 and "Capriccio italien"

From fateful crisis to creative stimulus

In the latest release in his Tchaikovsky cycle with the Gürzenich Orchestra, Dmitri Kitaenko juxtaposes the momentous Fourth Symphony with the sparkling Capriccio Italien. With the release of the seventh of eight CDs with OehmsClassics, the complete symphonic recording draws close to completion.

“This is Fate, the disastrous Power, which hangs over our heads like the sword of Damocles, poisoning our souls without respite.”  This is how Tchaikovsky characterised the main idea of his fourth symphony in a letter to his patroness Nadezhda von Meck. One year earlier, in 1877, he had married a former student in a desperate attempt to dispel rumours about his homosexuality, rumours which could have been fatal in Tsarist Russia. This did not go to plan and the composer suffered a mental breakdown.  However, he pulled himself back up and released his emotions in two grand works: the opera Eugene Onegin and his Fourth Symphony, a symphony displaying moments of both dreamy melancholy and good cheer in spite of the tragedy of the work.

This recording, produced in the Gürzenich Orchestra studio in 2010, is completed by Tchaikovsky's charming fantasy for orchestra, the Capriccio Italien. In this recording, Dmitri Kitaenko's interpretative strengths are once again revealed, as he continuously devotes his immense experience in the Russian repertoire to unfold a lively interpretation of the work which cleverly avoids all the standard clichées.  The cycle is expected to be completed in February 2014 with Tchaikovsky's Seventh Symphony.

Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)
Kitajenko
Cover Tschai4

Neuerscheinung: Tschaikowskys 4. Symphonie und "Capriccio italien"

Schaffensimpulse aus Schicksalskrisen

Für die neueste Veröffentlichung aus seinem Tschaikowsky-Zyklus mit dem Gürzenich-Orchester kontrastiert Dmitrij Kitajenko die schicksalsschwere 4. Symphonie mit dem funkensprühenden „Capriccio Italien“. Mit dieser siebten von insgesamt acht CDs bei OehmsClassics steht die Gesamteinspielung kurz vor ihrem Abschluss.

„Das ist das Fatum, jene verhängnisvolle Macht, die […] wie ein Damoklesschwert über unserem Haupte schwebt und unsere Seele unentwegt vergiftet“ – so charakterisierte Tschaikowsky in einem Brief an seine Gönnerin Nadescha von Meck den Hauptgedanken seiner vierten Symphonie. Im Jahr zuvor, 1877, hatte er im verzweifelten Versuch, die – im zaristischen Russland lebensbedrohlichen – Gerüchte über seine Homosexualität zu zerstreuen, eine ehemalige Studentin geheiratet. Das ging schief, und der Komponist erlitt einen Nervenzusammenbruch. Doch die Lebenskräfte kehrten wieder und entluden sich in zwei großartigen Werken: Der Oper „Eugen Onegin“ und eben jener 4. Symphonie, die bei aller Tragik auch träumerisch-melancholische und heitere Momente entfaltet.

Ergänzt wird diese Aufnahme, die 2010 im Studio des Gürzenich-Orchesters entstand, mit Tschaikowskys liebenswürdiger Orchester-Fantasie „Capriccio Italien“. Hier offenbart sich einmal mehr die Stärke von Dmitrij Kitajenkos Interpretationen, der seine immense Erfahrung im russischen Repertoire stets für eine wache, alle Klischees klug vermeidende Lesart einsetzt. Voraussichtlich im Februar 2014 wird der Zyklus mit Tschaikowsky 7. Symphonie abgeschlossen.