Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)
Kitajenko

Four concerts with the Budapest Festival Orchestra

The Budapest Festival Orchestra was created in 1983 by Iván Fischer and the late Zoltán Kocsis. It plays since then an important role in the musical life of the Hungarian capital and is a unique ambassador of Hungary around the world. Dimitri Kitaenko returns in November for four concerts to this orchestra. He conducted the BFO for the last time in 2014 during several concerts which were enthusiastically received by the audience.

This time the program comprises Shostakovich's First symphony, Rachmaninov's Paganini Rhapsody for piano and orchestra as well as Tchaikovsky's Francesca da Rimini.
Two concerts will take place at the Franz Liszt Music Academy in Budapest, the third one at the Kodaly Hall in Pecs. The last concert is scheduled at half past eleven at the renovated Castle Bazaar (Hungarian: Várkert Bazár), one of the new attractions at the foot of Castle Hill.

The soloist is the pianist Lilya Zilberstein born in Russia, who started her international career in 1987 after winning the Busoni contest in Bolzano. With Dimitri Kitaenko she plays Rachmaninov's Paganini Variations which were composed in 1934 within a few weeks. It's the last orchestral work, in which he uses the piano as solo instrument. The variations use a theme from Niccolo Paganini's 24th Caprice. This work is based on one of the simplest musical ideas, the cadence, and can easily remembered by the salient rhythmic form. Paganini's theme has inspired numerous composers, among them Johannes Brahms and Franz Liszt.

Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)
Kitajenko

Vier Konzerte mit dem 'Budapest Festival Orchestra'

Das 'Budapest Festival Orchestra' wurde 1983 von Iván Fischer und dem im November 2016 verstorbenen Zoltán Kocsis gegründet. Es spielt seither eine wichtige Rolle in der Musikszene der ungarischen Hauptstadt und ist ein unersetzlicher Botschafter Ungarns in der Welt. Zu diesem Orchester kehrt Dmitrij Kitajenko im November für gleich vier Konzerte zurück. Zuletzt hatte er es 2014 in mehreren vom Publikum umjubelten Konzerten dirigiert. Diesmal stehen Schostakowitschs Erste Symphonie, Rachmaninoffs 'Rhapsodie über ein Thema von Paganini' für Klavier und Orchester und Tschaikowskys 'Francesca da Rimini' auf dem Programm.

Zwei Konzerte finden im Konzertsaal der Franz Liszt-Musikakademie in Budapest statt, ein weiteres im Kodaly-Saal in Pecs. Das letzte Konzert ist abends um halb zwölf im renovierten Burggarten-Basar (Ungarisch: Várkert Bazár), einem der neuen Attraktionspunkte der ungarischen Hauptstadt.

Die Solistin ist die in Russland geborene Pianistin Lilya Zilberstein, die eine internationale Karriere startete, als sie 1987 den Busoni-Wettbewerb in Bozen gewann. Mit Dmitrij Kitajenko führt sie Rachmaninoffs Paganini-Variationen auf, die er im Frühsommer 1934 innerhalb weniger Wochen komponierte und die sein letztes Werk sind, in dem er das Klavier solistisch einsetzt. Grundlage der Variationen ist jenes Thema von Niccolo Paganini, das dieser im 24. Caprice aus seinen '24 Capricci' op. 1 als Ausgangspunkt für 11 Variationen verwendet hat. Unendlich wandelbar, da es auf einer der einfachsten musikalischen Ideen, der Kadenz, beruht, und einprägsam durch die markante rhythmische Gestalt, hat Paganinis berühmtes Thema auch Johannes Brahms und Franz Liszt zu großartigen Kompositionen inspiriert.