Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)
Kitajenko

Romantic music in Doha

Dmitrij Kitajenko returns for two concerts to the Qatar Philharmonic. Both concerts will take place at the Opera Ouse in Doha. The first one will feature music by Wagner, Shostakovich and Brahms, while the second concert will comprise compositions by Mozart, Grieg and Khachaturian.

The first concert is scheduled for Wednesday, 09 May. To open the program, Dmitrij Kitajenko, will conduct Richard Wagner's Overture to Rienzi. It will be followed by Dmitri Shostakovich's Symphony No. 9, Op. 70.

Shostakovich composed this symphony - his shortest symphony since the Second - for a middle-sized orchestra plus percussion in the summer of 1945, and Yevgeny Mravinsky led the first performance in November. Solomon Volkov recalled the composer's saying, "They wanted a fanfare from me, an ode, a majestic Ninth....I doubt that Stalin ever questioned his own genius or greatness. But when the war against Hitler was won, he went off the deep end, like a frog puffing himself up to the size of an ox, and now I was supposed to write an apotheosis of Stalin. I simply could not....My stubbornness cost me dearly."

Mravinsky called the new symphony "a joyous sigh of relief...a work directed against philistinism, which ridicules complacency and bombast, the desire to rest on one's laurels."

Then, German violinist Kolja Blacher will perform the Violin Concerto by Johannes Brahms. A born and bred Berliner – his father was the Baltic-German composer Boris Blacher, the 55-year-old violinist is known as a particularly inventive and sometimes non-conformist musician.

Dmitrij Kitajenko will conclude the concert witch a selection of Johannes Brahms's Hungarian Dances.

The second concert will take place on Monday, 14 May. It will begin with Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Symphony No. 40, KV 550, and end with excerpts from Aram Khachaturian's Spartacus suites. In-between the audience will hear Edvard Grieg's Piano Concerto, Op. 16 with the Russian pianist Lilya Zilberstein.

The Piano Concerto in A minor, Grieg's only piano concerto, written in 1868, during the composer's summer sojourn in Denmark, was a great success from the very first performance. In the first decades of the twentieth century it was less frequently played, due to the overzealously critical attitude of musical connoisseurs with regard to the whole of Grieg's oeuvre. Yet for a wide range of listeners, the Concerto lost nothing of its charm, and today it is listened to with undiminished pleasure, and commands a place in the repertoire of almost every concert pianist. The heartfelt lyricism, strong contrasts of mood, bright tones of its harmonies and constant flirting with minor keys - all these characteristic features of Grieg's style are combined in the Concerto with the enthusiasm of youth, which exudes from each of its movements. It is a truly Romantic work, akin in its overall character to the Piano Concerto (also in A minor) of Schumann, Grieg's spiritual master, but wholly original in its richness of melody and rhythm, deriving from Norwegian folk song and dance.

Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)
Kitajenko

Romantische Musik in Doha

Dmitrij Kitajenko kehrt für zwei Konzerte zum 'Qatar Philharmonic' zurück. Beide Konzerte werden in der Oper in Doha stattfinden. Das erste Konzert wird Musik von Wagner, Shostakovich und Brahms begreifen, während das zweite Kompositionen von Mozart, Grieg und Khachaturian präsentieren wird.

Das erste Konzert findet am Mittwoch, 9. Mai statt. Dmitrij Kitajenko dirigiert zunächst die Ouvertüre zu Richard Wagners Oper 'Rienzi' und danach Dmitri Shostakovichs Symphonie Nr. 9.

Shostakovich schrieb diese, seine kürzeste Symphonie seit der Zweiten, für ein Orchester mittlerer Größe plus Schlagzeug im Sommer 1945, und Yevgeny Mravinsky dirigierte die Uraufführung im November. Solomon Volkov erinnerte sich an die Aussage des Komponisten, "…sie wollten eine Fanfare von mir, eine Ode, eine majestätische Neunte.... Ich bezweifle, dass Stalin jemals sein eigenes Genie oder Größe in Frage stellte. Aber als der Krieg gegen Hitler gewonnen war, sollte ich eine Apotheose von Stalin schreiben. Ich konnte einfach nicht.... Meine Sturheit kam mich teuer zu stehen."

Mravinsky bezeichnete die neue Symphonie als "ein freudiger Seufzer der Entlastung ... eine gegen Philistertum gerichtete Arbeit, eine Verspottung von Selbstzufriedenheit und Bombast, sowie des Wunsches auf jemandes Lorbeeren zu ruhen."

Danach wird der deutsche Violinist Kolja Blacher das Violinkonzert von Johannes Brahms spielen. Der aus Berlin stammende 55-jährige Violinist - sein Vater war der baltisch-deutsche Komponist Boris Blacher - ist als ein besonders innovativer und manchmal nonkonformistischer Musiker bekannt.

Dmitrij Kitajenko wird das Konzert mit einer Auswahl von ungarischen Tänzen von Johannes Brahms beschließen.

Das zweite Konzert wird am Montag, 14. Mai stattfinden und mit Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Symphonie Nr. 40, KV 550, beginnen und mit Auszügen aus den Spartakus-Suiten von Aram Khachaturian enden. Dazwischen erklingt das Klavier-Konzert von Edvard Grieg mit der russischen Pianistin Lilya Zilberstein.

Griegs einziges Klavier-Konzert entstand 1868, während des Sommeraufenthalts des Komponisten in Dänemark, und war ein großer Erfolg von der allerersten Aufführung an. In den ersten Jahrzehnten des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts wurde es aufgrund der übereifrigen kritischen Haltung von Musikkennern hinsichtlich Griegs ganzem Oeuvre weniger häufig gespielt. Doch für eine breite Anzahl von Zuhörern verlor das Konzert nichts seines Charmes, und heute wird es mit unvermindertem Vergnügen gespielt und hat einen festen Platz im Repertoire fast jeden Konzertpianisten. Die tiefempfundene Lyrik, die starken Stimmungskontraste, die speziellen Harmonien werden als charakteristische Eigenschaften des Stils von Grieg mit der Begeisterung der Jugend verbunden, die jeder seiner Sätze verströmt. Es ist eine zutiefst romantische Musik, verwandt in ihrem gesamten Charakter mit dem Klavier-Konzert von Schumann, Griegs geistigem Vater.