Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)
Kitajenko

Dimitri Kitaenko

Dimitri Kitaenko is one of the great maestros of our time. For decades now he has regularly conducted prestigious orchestras across Europe, America and Asia.

Born in Leningrad (now St Petersburg), Dimitri Kitaenko studied at the famous Glinka School of Music and the Rimsky-Korsakov Conservatory before leaving to study with Leo Ginzburg in Moscow as well as Hans Swarowsky and Karl Österreicher in Vienna. In 1969 he won a prize at the first International Herbert von Karajan Conducting Competition and at the age of twenty-nine he was appointed principal conductor of the Stanislavsky Theatre in Moscow. In 1976 he assumed the post of principal conductor of the Moscow Philharmonic. In 1990 Dimitri Kitaenko moved to the West, successively becoming principal conductor of the Frankfurt Radio Symphony and the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, as well as principal guest conductor of the Danish National Symphony Orchestra. Since 2012 Dimitri Kitaenko has also been principal guest conductor of the Berlin Konzerthausorchester. In September 2015 he was named Conductor of Honor of the Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra.

Dimitri Kitaenko and the Cologne Gürzenich Orchestra, of which he has been honorary conductor since 2009, have recorded the complete symphonic works of Shostakovich, Prokofiev, Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninoff. These recordings have been awarded with countless international prizes and are considered important benchmark recordings. Their recording of Tchaikovsky's one-act opera Iolanta in 2015 with Olesya Golovneva, Alexander Vinogradov and Andrei Bondarenko in the lead roles caused a sensation and has been rewarded the "Opera of the Year Award" of the ICMA. In autumn 2016 the complete recording of Tchaikovsky's ballet music to The Nutcracker and the Divertimento from Stravinsky's Le baiser de la fée were released on OehmsClassic. Dmitri Kitaenko's discography encompasses a total of more than 250 recordings, mostly with the Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra, the Frankfurt Radio Symphony, the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra and the Danish National Symphony Orchestra.

In recognition of his life's work and outstanding recordings, including the complete symphonic works of Shostakovich, Prokofiev, Scriabin and Tchaikovsky, Dimitri Kitaenko received the "Lifetime Achievement Award" at the ICMA (International Classical Music Awards) in March 2015.

Dimitrij Kitajenko (Dmitry, Dmitri, Dimitri, Kitayenko, Kitaenko)
Kitajenko

Dmitrij Kitajenko

Dmitrij Kitajenko gehört zu den großen Dirigentenpersönlichkeiten unserer Zeit. Seit Jahrzehnten dirigiert er  regelmäßig die bedeu­ten­den Orchester Europas, Amerikas und Asiens.

In Leningrad, dem heutigen St. Petersburg, geboren, studierte Dmitrij Kitajenko zunächst an der berühmten Glinka-Musikschule und am Rimskij-Korsakow-Konservatorium,  später bei Leo Ginzburg in Moskau sowie bei Hans Swarowsky und Karl Österreicher in Wien. 1969 war er Preisträger beim 1. Internationalen Herbert von Karajan-Dirigierwettbewerb und wurde mit 29 Jahren Chefdirigent des Stanislawski-Theaters. 1976 übernahm er die Chefdirigenten­-Position der Moskauer Philharmoniker. 1990 ging er in den Westen und wurde u.a. Chef­dirigent des hr-Sinfonie­orchesters Frankfurt und des Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra sowie Erster Gast­dirigent des Dänischen Nationalen Radiosymphonieorchesters. Seit 2012 ist Dmitrij Kitajenko außerdem  Erster Gastdirigent des Konzerthausorchesters Berlin. Im September 2015 ernannte ihn das Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra zum Ehrendirigenten.

Mit dem Gürzenich-Orchester Köln, dessen Ehrendirigent er seit 2009 ist, hat er sämtliche Sinfonien von Schostakowitsch, Prokofjew, Tschaikowsky und Rachmaninov aufgenommen. Diese Aufnahmen wurden mit zahlreichen internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet und gelten als wichtige Referenzeinspielungen. Für Furore sorgte die Aufnahme von Tschaikowskys Operneinakter "Jolanthe" mit Olesya Golovneva, Alexander Vinogradov sowie Andrei Bondarenko in den Hauptrollen (2015). Im Herbst 2016 erschien bei OehmsClassics die Gesamtaufnahme von Tschaikowskys Ballettmusik zu "Der Nußknacker" und das Divertimento aus "Der Kuss der Fee" von Stravinsky. Insgesamt umfaßt Dmitrij Kitajenkos Diskographie mehr als 250 Aufnahmen, die meisten davon mit den Moskauer Philharmonikern, dem hr-Sinfonieorchester Frankfurt, dem Bergen Phil­harmonic Orchestra und dem Dänischen Nationalen Radiosymphonieorchester.

Für sein Lebenswerk und seine überragenden Schallplattenaufnahmen, darunter die Gesamtaufnahmen der Symphonien Schostakowitschs, Prokofievs, Skrjabins und Tschaikowskys, erhielt er im März 2015 den "Lifetime Achievement Award" bei den "International Classical Music Awards" (ICMA).